Eagle House School

The Eagle House Children’s Literature Festival

Menu Close
Eagle House School

Why Us?

More in this section

The Eagle House Children's Literature Festival 2017

The 2017 Festival had more authors than ever including - Matt Dickinson, Katherine Rundell, Sally Gardner, Marcus Sedgwick, M G Leonard, Ali Sparkes, Dan Smith, Julia Jarman, Cas Lester, Andy Cope, Christopher Lloyd, Nick Arnold, James Carter, Instant Wit and the Sea Legs Puppet Theatre.

Take a look at our Festival Flickr album

The festival showcases an array of top authors. Activities, workshops, author talks and signings all designed to promote reading as the key to learning and success.  From 4 - 13 year olds, the Festival celebrates books and enthuses young people.

The 2015 Festival was our biggest yet and was a huge success. Opened by Virginia Macgregor the two days saw authors: 

  • Andy Cope
  • Lauren Child
  • Steve Barlow
  • Steve Skidmore
  • Tim Bowler
  • Julian Sedgwick
  • Cliff McNish
  • Geraldine McCaughrean
  • Mike Spoor
  • Elizabeth Wein
  • Gillian Cross
  • Meg Rosoff
  • Cas Lester
  • Dave Cousins
  • A F Harrold
  • Thomas & Helen Docherty
  • Ruth Galloway
  • Adam Kammerling
  • Caroline Lawrence
  •  Tanya Landman 

This Festival is growing in popularity and we aim to turn it into the biggest school festival for reading, attracting as many children, parents and authors as possible. The message is simple: reading is the key to success and amidst all the confusions and demands of modern childhood it is the bedrock of imagination and creativity. 

Celebrating the best in children’s fiction in 2010 we held our first Children’s Literature Festival. The aim was to celebrate the wonderful depth of children’s contemporary fiction. Authors such as Anne Fine, Marcus Sedgwick, Tim Bowler, M G Harris, Sally Nicholls, Tom Palmer, Chris Priestly, Brian Patten, Nick Lake and Jeremy Strong all attended. It was a week of amazing workshops and talks.

In 2013 we hosted the 2nd Eagle House Children’s Literature Festival. Authors who attended included: Carnegie Medal winners Philip Reeve, Tim Bowler, Aidan Chambers and Sally Gardner and great authors such as Marcus Sedgwick, Jeremy Strong, Andy Briggs, Nigel Hinton, Hannah Shaw and Julia Golding. This year we host our third Festival and it promises to be our biggest yet.

Please visit our Festival Facebook page.

    In This Section